RCMF Donations

Enjoy using RCMF? How about a wee donation to help us keep you in the style to which you've become accustomed?

Welcome to RCMF. Please login or sign up.

November 26, 2020, 14:29:43 pm

Login with username, password and session length

Fun with a HobbyKing Mini-DLG

Started by Phil_G, August 03, 2013, 22:39:47 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Phil_G

August 03, 2013, 22:39:47 pm Last Edit: August 03, 2013, 22:41:47 pm by Phil_G
Just got back from an hour down Ponty park with the HobbyKing Mini-DLG, great fun and simplicity itself - just the tranny and the model, no boxes, no batteries, no glowstart, no problems!
I'm completely new to DLG but my half-arsed launches were getting about 80 to 100' ish with the occasional good one by fluke and a scary one where it somehow ended up inverted behind me!   It really rides any air currents - surprising how even small undulations in a flat field move quite wide columns of air around.

I learned a few things:
DLG flying is great fun!
I love the whistle as it climbs...
Not catching the stall can cost you half a launch...
The centrifugal bloodrush to your launch-hand is quite painful...
Tuck your fingers well round the pegs or it releases early at some embarrassing launch angle
The Mini-DLG does nice tight loops, flick rolls, & will hold inverted for a short while before it flicks out

The model itself is really nicely made and goes together in a couple of minutes - no really it does!
Theres bags of room for 'ordinary' radio without anything fancy or expensive, I used a little Frsky V8R4 (actually the one with the repaired aerial)  [link] and a single 400mah lipo cell. (Frsky receivers are fine on 1S - dont try that with your Spekky rx!)
Dunno what servos they are, they're already fitted and neatly linked up to their pushrods.
CG came out right without any adjustment and I didnt need to use any tx trims - it just flies and flies!

Well chuffed, highly recommended.
HK Mini-DLG link
Cheers
Phil

One Life Fly It