RCMF Donations

Enjoy using RCMF? How about a wee donation to help us keep you in the style to which you've become accustomed?

Welcome to RCMF. Please login or sign up.

December 02, 2020, 15:27:13 pm

Login with username, password and session length

Noob needs help with Bixler prop

Started by Dav51, March 21, 2016, 11:54:50 am

Previous topic - Next topic

Dav51

March 21, 2016, 11:54:50 am Last Edit: March 21, 2016, 12:57:34 pm by Dav51
Hi fellas,
This Bixler is doing my head in.
Right, I'm a complete novice, bought a used Bixler 2 off an  auction site, big mistake. Joined BMFA and a local club to learn how to fly. Needless to say wing fell off on second flight. Unrepairable! Not a problem, this time I'll buy a Bixler v1.1 ARF.
That's a joke!  The servo's are in, and that's it. Anyway, after gluing it together twice it's hopefully up and running. Bound to my dx6i and motor running the right direction. Now,  the prop, well the bit it attaches too. How in the name of all things holy do I put that onto the prop shaft? I understand it has to be stiff but I'm going to break the motor, and shouldn't I have done this before I put the motor in the plane?

graham bowers

It is a collet type prop adapter so tightening the spinner on the threaded shaft also acts to tighten it on the motor shaft.

1) Remove the prop from the adapter and remove / loosen the hub from the threaded shaft.
2) Place the threaded shaft on the motor shaft.
3) Place the hub on the threaded shaft.
4) Place prop on threaded shaft.
5) Add washer and spinner.
6) Tighten up.

That should do it.

Graham

Phil_G

March 21, 2016, 12:36:42 pm #2 Last Edit: March 21, 2016, 12:37:45 pm by Phil_G
Also note that he front of the prop faces the direction of flight, regardless of it being a pusher or tractor.