RCMF Donations

Enjoy using RCMF? How about a wee donation to help us keep you in the style to which you've become accustomed?

Welcome to RCMF. Please login or sign up.

December 02, 2020, 15:09:25 pm

Login with username, password and session length

Transmitter recommendations for a mature beginner

Started by Paul-H, August 02, 2015, 12:17:22 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Paul-H

Hi all

Being a mature beginner to RC Flying I am looking for some advice for a  suitable Transmitter, I don't have a huge budget and have been searching on-line for some suggestions and came up with the following systems, both being similar in features and price, would these be a good choice or are there any better options available.

The models I have been looking at are

Flysky FS-T6 2.4GHz 6CH Mode 2

and the

RC Turnigy TGY-i6 AFHDS Transmitter and 6CH Receiver (Mode 2)

Thanks for any help with this

Paul

itsme

I have no experience with those, I find my Hitec Aurora does everything I need very simply. If I was starting now, and had a low budget, I think I would buy a second hand FF9 transmitter, 35mhz, they are going cheaply, and put a 2.4 module of your choice, (frsky,futaba or hitec) in it. A quality transmitter for not much money.

FlyinBrian

You should also check out the new Spektrum DX6. or if five channels will do the DX5

Basic Research is what I do - when I don't know what I'm doing!.

itsme

Its worth checking out the prices of receivers, as these will be a large drain on resources, Orange seem to do a good job cheaply, Futaba are pricing themselves out of the market. Again, I rate the Hitec stuff as not cheapo, but reasonable, and pretty bomb proof. And simple to use!

Steve J

Quote from: FlyinBrian on August 02, 2015, 12:56:26 pm
check out the new Spektrum DX6

+1.