RCMF Donations

Enjoy using RCMF? How about a wee donation to help us keep you in the style to which you've become accustomed?

Welcome to RCMF. Please login or sign up.

December 02, 2020, 15:05:29 pm

Login with username, password and session length

LiPo repair

Started by fishypursuits, January 24, 2015, 10:48:13 am

Previous topic - Next topic

fishypursuits

Hi, I'm a beginner so please forgive my ignorance! I just crashed my newly built F550 hexacopter and damaged the balance plug on the LiPo battery. Does anyone know where I can get a new one fitted? (I don't feel confident in attempting myself, despite building the drone OK). Thanks in advance for any help

mase

January 24, 2015, 11:26:03 am #1 Last Edit: January 24, 2015, 13:01:46 pm by mase
Hi buy a balance plug and heat shrink from giant shark or H.K this is important make sure you buy some lead based solder and low wattage soldering iron .The correct way is to strip back the wires push the heat shrink cable up the cable out of the way .Tin the wires and mechanically join the wires(you hook the tinned ends together) before soldering them i prefer to twist the wires together and then tin and solder the wires in one go when it comes to small gauge wires.Pull down the heat shrink over the join and use the iron to shrink the heat  shrink.

leccyflyer

Quote from: mase on January 24, 2015, 11:26:03 am
Hi buy a balance plug and heat shrink from giant shark or H.K this is important make sure you buy some lead based solder and low wattage soldering iron .The correct way is to strip back the wires push the heat shrink cable up the cable out of the way .Tin the wires and mechanically join the wires(you hook the tinned ends together) before soldering them i prefer to twist the wires together and then tin and solder the wires in one go when it comes to small gauge wires.Push the heat shrink over and use the iron to shrink the heat  shrink.