RCMF Donations

Enjoy using RCMF? How about a wee donation to help us keep you in the style to which you've become accustomed?

Welcome to RCMF. Please login or sign up.

November 30, 2020, 07:10:45 am

Login with username, password and session length

Newbie to flat field / thermal.

Started by Big Phil, May 26, 2014, 09:59:41 am

Previous topic - Next topic

Big Phil

Morning all.

I'm about to take my first step into flat field and thermal soaring.
I've been flying the wonderfull slopes of South Wales for a couple of years now and have decided it's now time to try this type of flying so any advice would be greatfully excepted.

I've picked up an old, but mint Algerbra 100 elevator/rudder only model and bungee launch set.
With my slope models I tend to max out aileron and elevator throws but is this the norm' with 2 channel  thermal models?

I'm hoping to try some glide tests later at a local field to get the 'feel' of a 2 channel model.

As ealier mentioned any advice on this model, or flying in general would be most welcome.
Many thanks
Phil

FlyinBrian

No experience of the Algebra but for thermal soaring I don't use huge control throws. In fact the less you use the controls the better as all control movements create drag.
Basic Research is what I do - when I don't know what I'm doing!.

nickr100

Have you flown rid/elev on the slope? If not try that first as you'll be more comfortable flying in a place you know. R/e models tend to be slower to react to turning inputs as they use the secondary effect of yaw (roll) to turn. This is also the case for levelling out again. This all means you have to be thinking ahead a lot more. I haven't done much flat field thermaling for a good while but it is very relaxing, and you get to practice landing a lot!!

Patmac

May 26, 2014, 12:15:34 pm #3 Last Edit: May 26, 2014, 12:22:20 pm by Patmac
First, get a copy of George Stringwell's RC Thermal Soaring. There are a couple of copies on Ebay this one looks OK.